It’s the Holiday Season in NYC!


Such a fun-filled day! It’s my first weekend actually in the Bronx in a while (I always seem to be away visiting someone!) so I decided I wanted to do something festive!

So we went ice skating at Rockefeller! Katie, Monica, and I got up early and made our way downtown where we rented and laced up our skates. As soon as the ice was cleared after the session before us, we were off! I was a little rusty at first, but I managed not to fall the entire hour and a half we were allowed to skate!

There was a huge audience all around the rink above us, and the rink is surrounded by restaurants all with floor to ceiling windows, allowing the diners to watch the skaters. Mostly it’s probably very entertaining as there was a good amount of slipping and falling going on, but there was the occasional talented skater like the three girls at center ice who kept whipping out jumps and impressing everyone. I was content simply to glide around the ice trying to ignore the gathering crowd as it got busier later in the day.

About twenty minutes into our session the girls and I were taking a break and standing by the wall when someone glided past. I did a double-take.

“Uh…that was the girl from Gilmore Girls!”

“What?”

“Either that, or it’s her identical twin.”

Sure enough, the next time the girl made it around the rink there was no denying it…Alexis Bledel was skating at Rockefeller just inches from us! What’s more, she was hand in hand with Saorise Ronan who you’d probably recognize from The Lovely Bones. The girls were both just as pretty in real life as on TV or in the movies, and Alexis had the most ridiculously blue-green eyes I’ve ever seen!

I was really surprised that they just skated around in rented skates like everyone else! No one bothered them for pictures or autographs, which I’m sure they were grateful for. As much as I wanted to say hello or get a picture, we knew they just wanted to enjoy ice skating like everyone else. Plus I’m not sure how many people noticed who they were and I didn’t want to draw attention to them since they were obviously trying to keep a low profile. I did manage to take a couple of pictures from a distance without being too creepy…I had to prove I’d seen them!

After our double celebrity sighting, we finished out our ice skating session trying not to stare too much, while also trying not to fall. At two o’clock, we returned our skates and headed down fifth avenue.

There were so many decorations for the holidays! Every shop seemed to be coated in lights and advertising the latest greatest holiday gifts. We couldn’t help but admire some of the stunning jewelery in the windows.

Our last stop of the day was F.A.O Schwartz! The store was just as I remembered it when I went ages ago when I was younger. Loaded with toys and completely overwhelming (in a good way!). The girls and I made a pit stop in the candy section and I had to resist the urge to buy both Oreo and Peppermint Bark. I couldn’t hold strong for long though, because my will power ran out when we found the bakery stocked with cupcakes, scones, donuts, and muffins from Crumbs bakery. We simply had to get a cupcake so each of us got Red Velvet which was amazing.

After devouring our cupcakes we burned off some calories on The Big Piano on the second floor!We did look a little silly since we were definitely the only ones over the age of eight playing on the piano, but it was totally worth it! Did you know you can buy your own Big Piano for like $2,500? How awesome would that be to have in your house!?

After our holiday festivities, Katie and I had to get back to the house to do some grocery shopping! Every other Sunday someone in the house cooks dinner for everyone else and this week Katie and I were taking on the challenge. I have to give credit to my Aunt Marisa for her amazing lasagna recipe she gave me! I only had to make one modification which was to make only half the lasagna with  meat sauce, and the other half with sauce and green peppers for our house vegetarians.

I also must say that I was inspired by Katherine, my friend in Italy who recently posted a cooking video on her blog here! So, Katie and I decided to document our efforts, and here they are for you to enjoy!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Food, NYC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s the Holiday Season in NYC!

  1. Marisa Montinieri says:

    SO GLAD THE LASAGNA TURNED OUT SO WELL. YOU CAN USE ANY DEVIATIONS YOU WANT WHEN MAKING ~ I HAVE ADDED SPINACH TO THE RICOTTA FOR VEGETARIANS, ETC… CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU THIS WEEK FOR TURKEY DAY!!! XO Auntie M.

  2. Pingback: 2010 Blogging Stats | MMWords

  3. Jane says:

    Hi there,
    I am currently working on a design for a New York poster and was wanting permission to use a photo from your blog.
    The photo would be silhouetted, so you wouldn’t be identifiable – easier for me to explain by email if you have not objection – and I can show you a mock-up
    Kind regards,
    Jane

Leave a Reply

