Rockette Assistant!


This could be me someday.

It isn’t actually out of the realm of possibility because today I was hired as a Rockette Assistant for two weekends in December!

I had an interview with a woman who runs the Rockette Experience, a program that BDC is affiliated with. A few weeks ago, I mentioned to April that my secret dream is to be a Rockette. She mentioned setting up a meeting with the Rockette Experience lady, but nothing more came of it. So yesterday, I reminded her, that I really was interested in it, and if there was anything else she could do for me, I’d definitely want to get involved somehow.

Today, I had an interview. April’s just the best!

I shook hands with the woman and introduced myself. First thing I was asked? “How tall are you?” Apparently 5’10” is within acceptable Rockette height range because the interview continued. In less than 15 minutes I was scheduling the two weekends I would be working as a Rockette Assistant at the Rockette Experience workshop!

The workshop takes place in the morning and it’s a day of learning choreography, a mock audition, meeting the Rockettes, and a Q&A. My job during the workshop will be to stand in front with the Rockettes and assist them in teaching the choreography. Maybe do some demonstrations, that sort of thing.

I still can’t believe I’ll be dancing alongside Rockettes! THE RADIO CITY ROCKETTES!

The woman I interviewed with went on to say that the assistant experience is a really good one for the resume and that she’s had 29 girls go on to become Rockettes. So this is definitely the first step towards a dream that is starting to actually take form!

Imagine years down the road when I’m finally ready to open my own studio (the ultimate goal), being able to say that it’s owned by a former Rockette??? Coolest thing ever!!!

So now I know what I’ll be doing the first two Saturdays in December. In the meantime, I’ll be enrolling in every tap class BDC has to offer!

Living the dream in NYC. Remind me how I’m supposed to go back to MA after all this?

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Dance, NYC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rockette Assistant!

  1. Marisa Montinieri says:

    Mere, your dreams are coming true I just feel it…The experience alone is enough but just think if it goes further?? I am so happy for you and can’t wait to read more blogs as the time draws near…Hey I heard there was alot of rain and hail Monday night in the Bronx. Where you near the downpours? Love and miss you already…Auntie M.

  2. dad says:

    Mere: every experience you’re having continues to raise the bar…..you’d be an awesome Rockette….and your opportunities will find there way to you..

    always proud of all you do…

    Dad

  3. julie Montinieri says:

    Amazing Meredith! CONGRATULATIONS! I can already see that kick line….

  4. Cristina Schultz says:

    I told you that you would love April! Congrats Mere… I’m so proud of you!

    April tells me you’re doing a great job! Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

