NYC Botanical Gardens


One of many pictures from the Rose Gardens

Last day of activities before my first day of work tomorrow!

Today, per my sister’s suggestion, I visited the Botanical Gardens with another friend from the house who has Thursdays off from work! We took a bit of a scenic route on the way there and saw a new (but not so pretty) part of the Bronx. Once inside the gardens though, it was beautiful! Our first stop was to the Edible Garden where we walked through Martha Stewart’s herb garden. There were at least three different kinds of basil and they smelled so good. It made me want to go home and whip up some sauce (which I’ll probably have to do over the weekend).

After walking through the Edible Gardens we took the Tram around to the rest of the attractions in the gardens. The gardens take up almost 250 acres so it was definitely worth it to get the Tram tickets. We could hop on and hop off whenever it stopped somewhere we wanted to see!

The Bronx River passes through the gardens too, so at one point we got off the tram and followed a path that took us to a little waterfall!

Jill striking a pose on the path to the waterfall

The next stop on the Tram was my favorite part of the gardens: The Rose Garden. There were countless roses; you could smell them as you approached! I spent so much time taking pictures (before my camera died) of roses in every shape and size.


My favorite!

My favorite was the Grandiflora Rose (the sign said it was also called Rosa Strike It Rich). I just liked how the colors were mixed together. There were also white, pink, yellow, purple, and of course, red roses. It was a little overcast on our visit (which was good for taking pictures) but I could only imagine how stunning the Rose Garden would look on one of the first warm sunny days in the spring time.

After the Rose Garden we finished our trip on the tram and made our way back to the entrance where we discovered a much quicker route home.

We also stopped in White Castle since I was dying of thirst. I’d never actually been in a White Castle, I’ve only ever seen them on TV, but I’m guessing the typical White Castle isn’t equipped with bullet-proof glass like the one we visited. The fries were still hot and fresh though!

First day of work tomorrow! SO EXCITED!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in NYC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NYC Botanical Gardens

  1. Marisa Montinieri says:

    GOOD LUCK AT YOUR FIRST DAY AT WORK TOMORROW. LAST NIGHT I HAD THE EMPTY NESTERS OVER FOR SOME OF MY HOMEMADE TOMATO SAUCE WITH TOMATOES/BASIL FROM MY GARDEN…ONLY TWO THINGS MISSING ~~ YOU AND SHELL.. MISS YOU BOTH XOXO Love Auntie M.

Leave a Reply

