See ya, CT


This time tomorrow I’ll be en-route to NYC. I should be all packed and ready to go but I woke up this morning feeling like my left eyeball was on fire. So it was off to a walk in place where they informed me I had something in my eye, but it’s not there anymore, and apparently whenever it came out, it scratched the surface of my eye. Cool.

My eye was numbed, dyed fluorescent, looked at under UV light, then swabbed with a Q-tip, which was all very odd since I could see but not feel anything. Then I was prescribed some drops and a follow-up appointment first thing tomorrow before I leave. The doctor tried to tell me I should wear a patch since the light is really bothering me, but I told her it wasn’t that bad. Can you imagine showing up to NYC on the first day looking like a pirate?

No thanks.

Anyway, now I’m determined to just live like a bat for the rest of the day, in my room packing with all the blinds closed.

I wrote in my very first post that this blog would be about my adventures in NYC and it looks like it’ll finally turn into that. After over a month of odd and end stories from the summer, it’ll finally be time to document everything from my first trip on the subway, walking around Time Square, visiting the Bronx Zoo, taking dance classes, and working at BDC.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous, but I’m also really excited. It’s a big change to go from private, catholic, tiny, MA to big, noisy, diverse, New York. I’m looking forward to meeting everyone, to settling into the house, to setting up my room, to exploring the city, to working, and to dancing.

I guess this is my last CT post…Big Apple, here I come!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to See ya, CT

  1. Marisa Montinieri says:

    Good luck honey. Only the best things for you in the BRONX!!! The food you can get around there is awesome, esp., Scaglione’s Bakery, Conte’s Bakery, White Castle (?), and a slice of pizza near the Pelhams at any window restaurant will serve you well…I miss you already. Be careful and if you ever need anything, just give your Auntie “M” a shout….XOXO

Leave a Reply

