Where I am, and where I’m going


Before I get started, I must credit my starting this blog to Katherine who has inspired me with her ever entertaining posts. I can’t hope to be nearly as eloquent as her, but if I can be half as interesting I’ll be happy.

As I sit here writing this from my couch I can’t pin down what exactly I’ll be writing about from day to day or week to week. I’m home for the summer, working as a waitress and helping out at my dance studio, two jobs that provide me with constant amusement. Between work and dance I make time for my friends and my boyfriend. It’s the weekends and nights I spend with them that make my summers memorable.

So that’s where I am, working, dancing, enjoying being home while it lasts.

I go to college up in MA near Boston where I’ve invented my own major. I’m studying dance and business in the hopes of opening my own studio one day. I went through a lot of majors before I decided to create my own and once I did I knew I was doing the right thing. Last spring I made the last minute decision to apply to a internship program in NYC. I applied a month after the deadline (after much encouragement from my friends at school – thanks guys) and was thrilled to find out a few days later that I had been accepted.

So that’s where I’m going, NYC. The program has been responsible for all my outreach, looking for businesses in NYC who will be willing to take me on. I’m hoping to find a dance studio that I can work at, since that would obviously be helpful considering my future career path. No word yet on any opportunities, but I should be finding out soon – fingers crossed!

I’m sure the semester in NYC will be an eye-opening one. I’ve been there before of course, to Time Square, Carmine’s (the best Italian place ever – West 44th), and the Broadway Dance Center, but never for more than a day or two. I’ve been with my parents who handled the hailing of cabs, the navigating of the web of streets, and the finding of places to eat. Soon it’ll be just me and eleven other interns who will all be living in a house in the Bronx.

Going from my little suburban home town in CT, to a little suburban private college in MA, then on to NYC is going to be a big change. I’m excited and nervous. I read somewhere once that you should live in the country but leave before it makes you soft, and live in New York but leave before it makes you hard. I don’t think a semester will be too long, but hopefully it’ll be long enough to do all the tourist-y things then really experience the city like a New Yorker.

So until I leave I guess this blog will be thoughts, stories, and ramblings of the summer. Then once I head out it’ll be a first-person account of my attempt to navigate my way through a semester in NYC.

I can’t promise I’ll always be grammatically correct or as word – savvy as some of my friends (I’m eyeballing you, KB), but there’s no doubt it’ll be interesting!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Introductions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where I am, and where I’m going

  1. klbwords says:

    Soon it’ll be just me and eleven other interns who will all be living in a house in the Bronx.

    sounds like an episode of the Real World 😉 I wonder if that’s what it will be like…

    Ps. Your background is SO you.

  2. Da College Kid says:

    What a coincidence. I’m from CT as well, but I go to a private university in the Bronx. Good luck with your new blog!

Leave a Reply

